A revolving door…

 

When faced with a recent situation I was led to Luke 6:36 “Be merciful, just as your Father is merciful.” Sure, I’ve heard it before, pretty much know it by heart, but there comes a time when you’ve got to go a bit deeper. I continued to listen, then came verse 38 “Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.”

For years, each time I’ve heard verse 38 (or even read it myself) it was always in relation to giving and receiving money. But that day, I began to see it as it relates to grace, mercy, forgiveness, blessing those who mistreat you, and letting them keep what they’ve stolen (or at least think they’ve stolen) from you. And yes, verse 30 “…if anyone takes what belongs to you, do not demand it back” kept resounding so loudly in my spirit until it was like Jesus was physically in the room with me. I definitely didn’t waAnd so it continues...nt to be reminded of that. Yes, I was very upset and certainly all up in my feelings. But God once again reminded me that this journey still wasn’t about me. Don’t take this incident personally.

Later on, I began to talk to a friend about the situation. I already knew what I had to do but I was just thinking “perhaps I could get someone else on my side or at least gain a little sympathy.” Well, she was not that person…LOL! She’s one who’s going to give it to you straight from the word of God, no chaser. “You just gone have to chalk this one up…” Nope, not what I was trying to hear…period!

After all of that, I continued to pout a bit. And still, I set out to do the opposite of what God had told me to do. It didn’t work. So mentally I decided to let it go but the hurt feelings continued to linger. A day or two passed and I hadn’t really thought about it but then I heard this…

#LetItGo. “Don’t worry about what they did to you. Don’t try to get back what they took from you.Don’t worry about how or if I’m going to chastise them. Don’t try to avenge yourself in ANY way. I know it’s painful but this is still about you, your #faith and #obedience towards Me. Simply LET IT GO!”

At that moment I began to further understand how so much of my future, purpose, and destiny was tied up into this one incident. How my disobedience would alter things and cause me to miss out on what God has for me. I also understood that my spirit knew that I’d grown but the rest of me (mainly my feelings) have yet to realize it.

God is so loving, kind, merciful, gracious and the like until He patiently waited on my feelings to catch up, so to speak. We sometimes picture God as this harsh, Hitler-like dictator, who just wants to boss us around. That is so far from the truth! Sure, I know better and allowing me to continue on in my disobedience would have seemed fair to some but I believe God is more so about the journey than just the destination. His mission is to make me into who He has created me to be…a mirror image of His love and grace!  He also revealed to me in that same moment that this is an example of how grace is to be extended to others from here on out.

I am happy to say that I’ve totally Let It Go! It matters not to me the outcome nor how God chooses to handle it. He may not do anything at all and that is perfectly fine with me. I trust Him and believe that all things work together for my good because I love Him and I am called according to His purpose.

#whatIknowforsure~GRACE is a revolving door! It never stops and should be given even more than it is received!

Thanks for stopping by…God bless! ♥

Leave a Reply

