BOUNDARIES…

I’m inspired more and more these days to live in the #truth. The truth of how I view life. The truth of how I deal with people, especially those who continue trying to communicate with the old me.

In light of this new found inspiration, I’ve begun to think about boundaries. How important are they? How do I go about setting them without harsh or disrespectful intentions.

image

Firstly, I’ve concluded that they are very important. So important that they must be made a priority in my life. I admit that I’m a late bloomer in this area. For years, I have allowed my emotional well being to be tossed around by others because I thought I had no choice. That’s just how things were supposed to be because of another person’s temperament and/or perception of me. Truth is, people cross boundaries mainly because most people either don’t have them or don’t effective use them.

Secondly, I had to take inventory of certain relationships. For those who I felt were crossing lines and not seeing me as the able minded, adult that I am, how important is the relationship to me? Is it worth the trouble of restructuring? Or is it a relationship I can live without? Yes, we do have a right to make these decisions. Our growth and well being depends on it.

For those that are important to me, I have begun to implement specific things. Like saying what I truly feel and mean. Not in an arrogant or mean way, but in a way that clearly conveys the message. No more skating over issues to spare feelings, not even my own.

This will save me negative internal dialogue, regret, and participation in something I truly didn’t want to in the first place.

image

I have to admit that this is very very new to me. Like a few days ago new. I don’t have all of the details worked out. I do know that I am off to a great start. I feel a great sense of relief and a level of maturity that I haven’t felt in times passed.

image

It is my mission, as with all things in my life, to remain prayerful about each situation. I will not become haughty or hot headed. God does care about this as well. His word declares that He will perfect that which concerns me (us). And even in His perfecting, we have to do our parts.

I found via the internet. I has proven to be very helpful. If you’re struggling with setting boundaries, I am sure it will help you as well. “Setting boundaries is a way of caring for myself. It doesn’t make me mean selfish or uncaring because I don’t do things your way. I care about me too.”

Leave a Reply

