When a noun takes ACTION!

If you are associated with me through Facebook as well as in real life you know that over the last eight years I’ve had many challenges. The times that I should have been solely concentrating on internal and external healing and just getting better, I was worrying about what people thought, how my life appeared, and how I was going to make this big “COMEBACK” that would basically shut the naysayers down. Yeah, that right there, a total waste of time and energy.

As a result of a sermon I’d heard in church one Sunday, I began to ponder the word

COMEBACK! Merriam-Webster gives these definitions:Comeback

  • a return to a former good position or condition
  • a return to being popular or fashionable
  • a new effort to win or succeed after being close to defeat or failure

Do any of these definitions actually fit my life back then? Or now? I began to think, “a return to a former good position or condition.” Nope! If I’m honest, which I always try to be, before things started to change in my life, I really wasn’t in a good position and certainly not in good condition. Of course, if you’d asked me this around mid-2007, I would have answered, YES! Because in my mind (and according to society), I was doing what a young professional in my age bracket should have been doing; working in the career field that I studied in college, preparing to become a first-time homeowner, furthering my education (mainly for status and money), and dating here and there. Now that I’ve grown and healed a bit, I know for sure that this definition of comeback does not apply.

2Corin5.17“A return to being popular or fashionable,” I laugh out loud as I read and type this definition. Nope! She was definitely neither of these things.

“A new effort to win or succeed after being close to defeat or failure,” of the three, this one would be the closest fit for my life. I could go in a few directions with this definition. But let me just say, had I not been close to “defeat or failure,” I shudder to think of what my life would be like today. Here’s the truth about defeat and failure, in the eyes of humans, it’s a travesty of life. But to the God who created humans, it’s the perfect opportunity to get our attention, bring us closer to Him and put us on the path of becoming who He created us to be.

At the beginning of my “eye situation”, I had many other issues but the loss of eyesight is
what was used to get my attention, I had no idea where God was going with this. I surely didn’t see it as a blessing, a means to heal me, and certainly not an opportunity to get me closer to Him and my true identity. Because I had yet to know His true character, I thought for sure He was nowhere in my situation.

I allowed people to get in my head and further break my spirit, “God is punishing you.” “You must not be living right.” “You are not a real (good) Christian.” But what “people” fail to understand is that ALL means ALL. And the word of God declares that ALL things work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to His purpose. Not my or those “people” but His purpose, for His glory.

So, how do I launch my COMEBACK? First, I had to realize that it’s not about proving anything to anyone. The new winning and success seen are for the sole purpose of glorifying God. While He’s being glorified, many lives will be touched and changed. And to the human eye, that would be seen as winning and success. That’s fine by me! I believe that everything that I’ve experienced was all a part of His plan. I welcome thbutterfly transforme well wishes and kind words. Hey, I’m human and we need that from time to time. But, I will not forget the true purpose of it all. A few days ago while I was brooding over something or another, I heard in my spirit, “The gift is not for you!” That put things right back in perspective.

Secondly, although all three definitions of comeback define a noun (a person, place, or thing) for me, it entails many verbs (action words). I have to continue to walk in faith and obedience even when what I see is contrary to the promises and will of God for my life. I must develop and grow in the things that I desire to achieve. I must constantly refresh and renew my mind, never allowing what the enemy brings to deter me from my destiny. I have to rebuild and restart relationships that were once thought to be dead and gone. This is one thing that many of us shy away from; but, oftentimes people need to experience your change for their own good. Mainly those who have written you off to be a lost cause. The new creature you’ve become will bear witness that the power of God is real.

I have to believe that I have been reborn and conduct myself accordingly. If not, all of this would have definitely been in vain, all the way back to the birth, death, burial, and resurrection of Christ. I have to develop a lifestyle of fasting, praying, and praise. The rebirth brings on a level of responsibility and accountability that must be maintained. I have to believe, cobroken peopleme what may, that God is for me and His is exactly who He says He is. Please believe, the enemy never lets up on his job. He’s foolish enough to keep at it even after the new creature has come forth. Never stop letting him know to whom you belong.

For awhile I thought I was a lone ranger in the things that I’ve faced. My story may not be exactly like anyone else’s but there are many who need to launch a “comeback” in their own lives. Start by evaluating your life, right before things started to go wrong. Where were you spiritually? Emotionally? What have you learned? How has it changed you? How can you share it with others? How can you help someone better their life? All of these are very important questions to ask yourself if you believe that your life has a purpose and God has a specific plan for you that will glorify Him.

It may sound a lot harder than it is. Just start right where you are and I guarantee you the Holy Spirit will be there to help you every step of the way.

Continued blessing and peace!

Phil1.6

Leave a Reply

